top of page

Honour roll

USO Conductors and Players

Conductors of the Unley Symphony Orchestra


A resident conductor is annually appointed (or reappointed) to decide the concert programs and to rehearse the orchestra for that year’s concerts. They have included:

Tom Lambert (1980)

Ian McDonough (1981)

William Howard (1982)

Peter Webb OAM (1983-current)


Concertmasters of the Unley Symphony Orchestra


A concertmaster is annually appointed (or reappointed) to assist the conductor and USO committee in ensuring that the repertoire performed suits the standard of the orchestra. They have included:

Ken Berris (1980-1990)

Joanne Bones (1991-2017)

Susan Currie (2017-current)


Honorary Members of the USO


The Unley Symphony Orchestra recognises its foundation players as Honorary Members of the Orchestra. They are:

Betty Bull, Ken Berris, John Doyle, Cynthia Henley-Smith, Rosamond Kelly, Pam Gibson, Mignon Dennis, Joan Betheras, Caryl Lambourn, Chris Bensted, and Helen (Barl) Greacen.

The Unley Symphony Orchestra has also, on occasion, granted honorary membership to players who have displayed outstanding service to the orchestra. They include:

Ann Bensted, Chris Carthew, Jonathan Webb, Julienne Webb

bottom of page